Home Again

305-A.  302-D.  311.  303-B, and now 306-B.  These are the rooms I have stayed in during my last two stints at Shepherd Center.  And each one has offered its own set of lessons, challenges and blessings.  I am looking out the window of my most recent digs right now, marvelling at a purple sky gradually giving way to the morning light.  I am going home. On many of these mornings while at Shepherd, I have awakened with a verse of scripture on my mind, placed there, undoubtedly, by the Lord as a reminder of what He will do with me that particular day.  And today it is Isaiah 40:31–

"They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles, they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint."

I hear the Lord coaxing me out of early morning grogginess with the glorious charge to "mount up."  The work of this hour has been done in me and it's ALL been the Lord's doing.  Whatever He set out to do in me in this season, I have utmost faith that He has done it and I am resting in that. 

I am going home.

Not with gaping wounds in me but a wholeness that the Lord has wrought with His masterful hands.  I have learned through the years that He is gracious not to do His surgeries without anesthetic as even in the most anguishing times and lowliest of setbacks, He is in the operating room doling out what is necessary with a love that transcends all.  And now He is seeing fit to send me home.  Praise His name always!

Although my roommate John has not made the verbal commitment to the Lord as yet (the Lord sees the heart), I am at peace that all that God wanted to do through me has been done and the purpose for which I was called in this was accomplished to His glory.  I will talk to John once more this morning before I head for home and remind him that the Lord stands by to save him "to the uttermost" (Heb. 7:25).  I have the grandest of inklings that one day I will get that call from John that he has taken up his cross and followed his Master.  John has been a large part of why I am here and of that I am sure.

Well, I am "mounting up" and soon I will be going home.  I want to thank each of you for being my family, my Barnabas's and my sounding-board through this journey on CaringBridge.  I treasure all your "hits" and will bundle all your entries and carry them in the purse of my heart. 

I am going home and it is the Lord's doing!  May the praise and glory go always to Him!

Mounting ever,

Pasture (Scott)

One thought on “Home Again

  1. excalibur says:

    makes you think doesn’t it

    Like

What Do YOU Think?

