What Would YOU Say?

You’ve seen and heard it. A rock star or actor stands at a podium and before a global audiencemicrophone.jpg thanks all the little people for their award then adds the obligatory nod in the direction of the “Big Guy” for making it all possible. In the sports arena an MVP or grateful champion might want to “first thank God” for their hard-fought victory.

Immediately after besting the Chicago Bears 29-17 in Super Bowl XLI, Indianapolis Colts coach Tony Dungy said before all the world, “I’m proud to be the first African-American coach to win this, but again, more than anything, Lovie Smith (Bears coach) and I are not only African-American but also Christian coaches, showing you can do it the Lord’s way. We’re more proud of that.”

In fact, it was Lovie Smith, the losing coach who said of the Super Bowl that it was the “perfect stage” for the coaches to confess their faith in Jesus Christ. In a USA Today ad both coaches took out days before the game, they stated, “We’re pro football coaches, but we are also men of faith. A faith that defines who we are. It comforts us in tough times and produces hope in the midst of adversity. It is through our common faith in Jesus Christ that we have individually experienced God’s love and forgiveness.”

That’s pretty clear.

But, there are other cases when a cultural icon has elsewhere professed faith in Christ (not mentioning names) and been given the perfect opportunity to speak for Christ on the world stage but muffs the chance. No witness whatsoever. So, in the interest of all that is at stake, let’s pretend you are given a mike and a platform with an audience of almost every breathing human being looking in.

What would you say?

5 thoughts on “What Would YOU Say?

  1. timbob says:

    Greetings. To shout it from the housetops that Jesus is our Savior and Lord. In him we have peace and life which the world can never offer, never take away, and never quite comprehend. Both Tony Dungy and lovie Smith are great testimonies to our Lord; working in an arena where sports superstars with huge egos are the norm. Thanks for a great post.

    have a blessed day in Jesus.

    timbob

    Like

  2. supermannino says:

    I think there is a difference between a Christian and a Christ-follower. It’s cool to thank God, Jesus, “the Big Guy,” “The Man Upstairs,” or whatever…but…

    I also think that some people kind of make God a joke when they do it for receiving an award for doing something that doesn’t honor God. It seems eerily as if it’s breaking the commandment of “using the Lord’s name in vain.” (No reason.)

    Take an extreme…if I won Male Adult Film Star of the Year, would it be “good” for me to thank Jesus? I don’t know if that currently happens, but it would seem odd. Almost like Madonna mastering the secrets of Cabbala.

    Now, football is different. I think it CAN be done in a way that honors God. And, from what I’ve heard, I know Dungy is very involved in Fellowship of Christian Athletes and treats his players in a Christ-like manner. I don’t know. I like him praising God. I just think that if you thanked Jesus and people are surprised that you did because of the way you live your life, that might say something about you.

    So…to answer your question, I would thank Jesus for winning some award; but I would also hope that my life speaks the Gospel as much as my words do…

    Like

  3. Mic says:

    Someone, was it Shakespeare?, once said, “All the world is a stage”, so we don’t have to wait to win an award to proclaim Christ. Any corner of any street ought to do just fine. “I humbly thank and praise God for making me me!”

    Like

  4. pasturescott says:

    Hey Super and Mic, thanks for the input! I’m sorry, I should’ve been clearer: I didn’t mean you had to wait to win an award to say something…I merely meant if someone stuck a mike in your face and had your ‘fifteen minutes’ what would you say…

    Nonetheless, what you both had to share would make ME sit up and listen!

    Like

  5. pasturescott says:

    Timbob,

    May the Lord bless you! Once again, I thank you for your dropping in. One of these days I will have a pot of coffee on for you and we can “sip on the Spirit”. Now I’m off to take a peek at your site…and find the Lord there!

    Like

What Do YOU Think?

