For Those ‘Trying’ To Live The Christian Life

Are we called to ‘imitate’ our Lord’s Life?

Can ‘we’ even live up to such a Life?

Here’s a question that might tip some sacred cows: truthfully now, does our Lord really need us to serve Him (see Acts 17:24,25 and Mark 10:45)? Or is the fruit of the abiding Life His serving through us that brings glory to the Father?

Take a look-see at what Mr. Morgan cooks up for us:

“The nature of the Christian Life is Christ’s Life taking hold upon all the inner life of a man, changing, dominating, pulsating…the Christian Life is neither imitation of Christ nor correct intellectual positions concerning Christ. I may attempt to imitate Christ most sincerely through long years, and yet never be a Christian. It is possible for me to admire him, and attempt with all the power of my life to imitate Him and yet never realize Him.

It is quite possible for a person to believe most sincerely in His deity and the fact of His atoning work, and moreover, in the necessity for regeneration, and yet never be submitted to His Lordship, never to have a personal share in His atonement, never to be born again.

Nothing short of the coming into the Life of Christ Himself constitutes a Christian. If Christ be in you, living, reigning there absolutely, and you are obeying Him, there will never be a moment when the Truth will not be evident. You cannot hide Christ if once He comes within. If the Light is there, it simply must shine.”

–G. Campbell Morgan (Congregational Pastor, 1863-1945)

 

“In Him was Life, and the Life was the Light of men.”
(John 1:4)

JT, you are sooo right, my brutha.  Only Christ can live the Christian Life. (loved the post, by the way)

It’s the Life of the Indwelling Christ that makes us His. Let’s put away our checklists, ‘how-to’ manuals, rule books, and activity reports. He longs for intimacy with His own, so let’s draw near. A reigning Christ living through a reigning people.  Now that’s a recipe made in Heaven!

As Steve Brown says: “You think about that. Ah-men.”

6 thoughts on “For Those ‘Trying’ To Live The Christian Life

  1. brotherjohnny says:

    We are altogether undone apart from His Life, His Breath…
    I was telling Missy the other night how the road of Life is growing more and more narrow for me. It’s difficult to illustrate with words, but….it’s more and more apparent that it must be all Him and none ‘me’.
    The union must increase….or rather must be realized.
    The distinctions must blur into one…
    This is both terrifying and encouraging!!
    At the same time, this is all about a people and not just a person.
    Christ can only be fully manifest in a people, he cannot fully be expressed in me, but I am to fully express of Him that part of Him for which I am designed to be.

    I am so thankful for you, Scott. You have encouraged my spirit today.
    Praise the Lord Jesus!!

    Like

  2. Marie says:

    It was this Kingdom Truth that brought me out of a deep depression in 2001
    when God used John B. to open my eyes to the fact that I could not live the life that we are commanded to live in God’s Word. I had given up hope for the “abundant life” that is promised. What a relief to finally have the revelation that only Jesus could live that life and created us to be vessels for His Life to accomplish His Word. It took me a little longer to realize that I had to be dead in order for this to take place! Still working on that one. Knowing I’m dead and believing it are two different things.

    I’m with Brother Johnny, the Road does seem to be narrowing – the black getting blacker, the white, whiter.

    This is a greatly encouraging word. Thank you for posting these two very timely words/posts today.

    BTW, you and your beautiful wife are greatly loved!

    Like

  3. Jerald says:

    It’s this: “The nature of the Christian Life is Christ’s Life taking hold upon all the inner life of a man, changing, dominating, pulsating…”
    The rich young ruler saw something “good” in Jesus but still lacked himself. We can try as we will to imitate the man Jesus but it’s to submit to the Lord Jesus that’s the issue.

    And. . .

    Oh the weather outside is frightful
    But the fire is so delightful
    And since we’ve no place to go
    Let in snow. Let it Snow! Let It Snow!!

    Like

  4. krislinatin says:

    can not say anything more prfound than that. So AMEN!
    and merry christmas, Scott!

    Like

  5. brotherjohnny says:

    I wanted to clarify something that could be misunderstood.
    When I said that “the disctinctions must blur into one”, I realize that could be taken to mean a “mixture of natures”.
    That’s not what I meant.
    Maybe the best way for me to say it is “His nature expressed through me”.
    I am still required as a vessel, but “I” am not to rule or be ruled by any other than God.
    I apologize if this was at all misunderstood.

    In His Love…

    Like

  6. darla says:

    “It’s the Life of the Indwelling Christ that makes us His. Let’s put away our checklists, ’how-to’ manuals, rule books, and activity reports. He longs for intimacy with His own, so let’s draw near. A reigning Christ living through a reigning people. Now that’s a recipe made in Heaven!”

    Darla says AMEN! (too) 😉

    awesome post I will have to read it again. I know as people we generally put to much on the change as if we are doing it, and then wonder why it isn’t working…and we need to fall more on the Grace that brought us to HIM in the first place.. and allow HIS Spirit to do the work..me I am enjoying being the follower (of Christ).

    nice snow ! In case you decide to hide again before Christmas..Have a wonderful Christmas! love ya brutha

    Like

What Do YOU Think?

