stimulating

I’m needing stimulus. No, not that kind. Something that’s effectual. Trustworthy. Otherworldly.

I keep getting hit with the verse “God is great and we do not know Him.” It came up again in a recent conversation. I saw it god-is-biga day or two afterward in a friend’s post. And then, this morning, a testimony that was given during our worship service alluded to it. It occurs to me that though I have been on a path of pursuit to know God for nearly three decades, I still only see Him with blurred vision.

Remember the man born blind?

Like him, I need to go all the way to Siloam that my sight will be single, clear, focused. Interesting place, Siloam. It exists even today. Of the three places it is mentioned in the Bible, two of them are in adjoining chapters—here and in the preceding chapter.  In John 7, the priest draws water from the Pool of Siloam and pours it on the altar as a memorial of the time Moses was told to strike the Rock and water gushed out onto the desert soil. Paul would later give revelation that the Rock was, indeed, Christ. What the priest did was to put the central focus on Christ.

In this season, Going to Siloam means make haste to know Him in all His glorious fullness. Do not delay. Fight off distractions. Fend off suitors. Press into His Kingdom violently. Discover His greatness. 

What if the young man had thought to himself, “y’know? I’m okay. It’s a bit blurry, but I can see better than I used to!”? What if he had stood pat and satisfied?

That’s what I, for one, DO NOT want to find out. 

Knowing You, Jesus. There is no greater thing.

6 thoughts on “stimulating

  1. Amen.
    I get tired and want to camp out sometimes.Or at least that’s what I think I want to do….
    In reality what I need is Rest…so that I can get up and and keep walking.

    Glad to see you sharing here again, Brother.

    Like

    • pasturescott says:

      Thank you for the “rest” comment, JT. Pray for me that I find His rest in all the daily grind. I really feel I need it desperately. Pray for it for me and Sandy, brother. I will pray for (and keep loving) you!

      Like

  2. I most certainly will, and believe me, I deeply appreciate your love and prayers.

    Like

  3. darla says:

    “In this season, Going to Siloam means make haste to know Him in all His glorious fullness. Do not delay. Fight off distractions. Fend off suitors. Press into His Kingdom violently. Discover His greatness.”

    AMEN!! I am at this place also, and throwing off all distractions (especially the ones that come in sheeps clothing) pressin in and pressin hard! Love you Brother, and man, I just want it so bad I can taste it! To know HIM more and love HIM more…thats the goal!

    Like

    • pasturescott says:

      Darla, you are that princess coming out of the desert leaning on her beloved (Song of Songs 8:5)! He is bringing you into fullness. All the years of hard preparation are soon going to give way to the assignment you were put on this earth for! He hears you! It’s all about HIM! For the glory and vindication of His Name, may He forever be praised through your life!

      Like

  4. darla says:

    Thank you, I am sure that God has put you here for me..hahaha i take all gifts from HIM very personal. 🙂

    Like

What Do YOU Think?

