I Have Need of Endurance

UPDATE: I will be undergoing surgery to do a final ‘wash’ of the left hip and a muscle flap to close the wound. It is slated for 7:30 am tomorrow (Thurs) This will be my third surgery during this stay and will require up to 4 more weeks of healing, mending and rehab here at Shepherd.

Some have asked about visits and I will let you know when is best for that. For now, I am “double isolated” with MRSA and VRE so am highly susceptible to infection. I love you all with the love of Christ and am absolutely, positively BLOWN AWAY by all your comments and likes. You all have been Jesus to the Sange and me in a big way.

How very cool that though our “outward man” is perishing, the “inner man” is being renewed DAY BY DAY! (2 Cor 4:16). This is the challenge the Lord has put to my heart in the last 24 hours:

“For you have need of endurance so that when you have done the will of God, you may receive what was promised.” (Heb.10:36)

Oh my! How this excites my inner man!

4 thoughts on “I Have Need of Endurance

  1. Amen and amen Scott. We will continue to pray for you and I have about 90 students at our middle School who just love to pray for people and you are one of them. Much love and God’s blessings, Jerome

    Like

  2. Dear Scott and Sandy,
    I had to look up MRSA and VRE to learn what they are. It reminded me of another very close friend of mine. I have known Paula Owens since we were 10 years old. She was saved at the age of 12. She was a nurse for many years. About 19 years ago, she was diagnosed with rheumatoid arthritis and has other complications as well. She is in so much constant pain, I think her body is a torture chamber.
    I have shared your story with her. I am going to forward this e-mail to her. She needs to see she is not alone. Thank you for this.
    I wish to share a poem I wrote for her. I include the Author Notes So you will understand the ending:

    Author notes
    Written 4-11-16-2011, for a very good old friend with many disabilities, some quite painful. She loved to ski before she was disabled. I was born with cerebral palsy,which affects, among other things, my balance. So, in this life, no skiing for me, either. As a Christian, I believe, in accordance to I Corinthians 15, that in the resurrection to come we would have indestructible bodies like that of Christ. Mons Olympus is a mountain on Mars, about three times the height of Mount Everest (80,020 ft.). It is the highest point in our solar system. I said to Paula in an e-mail that, when we get our resurrection bodies, maybe we will ski together down Mons Olympus! She will immediately understand the poem’s end.

    Tears for Paula

    Streams of tears roll down my cheek

    As I pray for you, dear friend.

    On my knees I’ll near-cry a creek

    As drops of hurt descend.

    I cannot comprehend the pain

    You live with every day.

    I sometimes marvel you stay sane

    And keep death’s wolves at bay.

    Dear Lord, I do not understand

    Why Paula’s tortured so.

    She has faith in your guiding hand,

    Your loving heart does know.

    She has borne pain beyond belief,

    But she loves you dearly.

    All I ask for is some relief

    For one I love sincerely.

    Dear Paula, I’ve shed many tears

    To God, for you in prayer,

    I believe our Father hears,

    You must take comfort there.

    My tears are in His bottle placed,

    He knows what I would do –

    He knows that I would comfort trade

    To take the pain from you.

    Jesus suffered, was crucified,

    So He knows well our pain.

    He took sin’s punishment, then died,

    And then He rose again.

    What opportunity we have;

    Let’s take our cross, and go,

    Humbly follow Him as His slaves,

    In His fellowship grow.

    Some day a time will come when we’ll

    Forget the tears we shed.

    The pow’r of resurrection we’ll

    Know first-hand, as He said.

    Some day, with minds and bodies whole

    The pain we’ll understand.

    We will comprehend the goal

    Our tears had in God’s plan.

    Some day our bodies will have pow’r;

    We will not need a ship:

    Tears behind us as we take our

    Mons Olympus ski trip!

    Please pray for Paula.
    And thank you both for being the godly inspirations you are.

    Walter Ferguson

    Like

  3. Belinda Cribbs says:

    That ia truely a profound revelation. God must surely love you to walk through such trials with you,

    Like

    • pasturescott says:

      Yes, Belinda, His love has been my constant and Friend through all of this. Thank you for reading here and commenting. May your day and the days ahead be filled with the sweetness of the Life!

      Like

What Do YOU Think?

