Contentment

I’ll be preaching in my home fellowship tomorrow and I am feeling especially convicted over one of the main points of the message. I thought I’d pass along this über speaking point and some of the fiery follow-up thoughts that the Lord is putting my feet to.

We’ll take a bit of time speaking on the matter of ENDURANCE and what the Church at large needs on this “final lap.” (Hebrews 10:36-39 if you’re keeping score at home)

Point 3 is especially convicting, although some might argue the first two über points are even more so. I won’t be territorial on the matter. I’ll leave it to the Spirit to decide.

3. ACCEPTING OUR STATION IN LIFE

Philippians 4:11 (MSG)
Actually, I don’t have a sense of needing anything personally. I’ve learned by now to be quite content whatever my circumstances.

I plan on making some comments…the audience the writer addresses are living some pretty tough scripts…reproach…affliction…prison…lost property…yadda, yadda, yadda…what is your hard narrative?…can you find hope in your story? peace? contentment?

At this juncture you realize there are many scriptures to interject, but none so relevant as this one Paul penned.

From jail.

Uh-huh. Yeah. He’s got my attention for sure.

So what does such contentment look like?

A lot like this, I’m afraid:

  • Rejoicing in tribulation
  • Trusting the promises of God to you
  • Giving thanks for everything
  • Knowing that your wilderness is designed to dry up all the fountains that are sustaining you in the place of Jesus (Sorge)
  • No longer comparing yourself to others and their stations, better or worse
  • No longer needing another’s affirmation to give you dignity or a sense of being good enough
  • Being satisfied with “wherever in the room” He places you, so long as you get to be a part of His great story and can gaze upon His beauty
  • Finding a quiet place, even though everything in you wants to scream

Anything here convicting you?

Anything you can add?

And if you’re in the New River fellowship and you read this before tomorrow’s gathering, don’t stay home. There’s two other matters that desperately need our attention. I’m getting stirred up just thinking about them!

6 thoughts on “Contentment

  1. Jorie West says:

    Where is New River Fellowship? BTW….sounds good to me.

    Like

  2. KaKa says:

    I wouldn’t miss it for the world
    Can’t wait for the rest !

    Like

  3. Beth Haning says:

    Thanks, Scott. Another timely message for me today. It hit a few sore spots that I’ve been struggling with lately as well. Have a good day tomorrow worshipping the Lord with your sheep.

    Like

    • pasturescott says:

      Hi Beth! I am so honored you ventured over here to connect! Thank you for reading. As it turns out, I got long-winded in the intro so we never got to this section. But, my pastor was gracious and will let me finish it in a couple weeks.

      I’m with you on the challenges presented here but so blessed that God’s grace more than covers and empowers me (and you!) to overcome.

      Like

What Do YOU Think?

