Words With Friends

IMG_0669.JPG
______________________
I set my Spotify to random from my playlist and was taken aback by a new-to-me song I had stored but not listened to as yet. It was a stirring selection by the Sidewalk Prophets, “The Words I Would Say.”

The bridge gives the crux of the message and I started thinking of the many I wanted to share these words with – and so I will.

With you, dear reader.

I pray you receive them.

Be strong in the Lord and
never give up hope.
You’re gonna do great things
I already know
God’s got his hand on you so
don’t live life in fear
forgive and forget
but don’t forget why you’re here
Take your time and pray
These are the words I would say

This got me thinking about the power of “blessing” another and how we have gotten away from this ancient medicine of the heart. Perhaps I’ll blog on it soon.

But for now, would you share in the comments the most powerful or meaningful blessing you’ve either (a) given another, or (b) received?

Let’s all bless each other!

One last thing. The writer who penned those lyrics intoned, “these are the words I would say.” I suppose you know where I’m going with this. Don’t leave the words in your mouth. Spill the beans.

Your kid needs to know you’re on their side.

Your spouse could use some words of life right about now.

A struggling believer sure could use the oxygen of hope from your mouth.

See the comment box below? It’s waiting for your blessing…

2 thoughts on “Words With Friends

  1. Patrick says:

    Scott, what a great post. I, too, have been taken by this very same thing, the “ancient medicine of the heart” as you so eloquently put it. I had never realized just how important this practice is and just how much we, our spouses and our children need it, so I began to do this myself.
    I love the blessing that Jacob taught his son Joseph (Genesis 48:20), the priestly blessing G-d taught Moses to teach Aaron (Numbers 6:22-27) and G-d’s own blessings to Joshua (Joshua 1:1-9). I bless my children with these every week if not every day.

    Scott, may G-d make you to be like Ephraim and Manasseh. Jacob intentionally placed Ephraim ahead of his older brother. Go and learn what these names mean in Hebrew to understand the blessing. Genesis 41:50-52

    Like

    • pasturescott says:

      My wonderful friend and brother, the joy and persistent favor of our LORD be upon you! Your visits and comments are ALWAYS an honor and joy to my heart. I can always look forward to your sharing. Such substantive gleanings!

      I did as you asked and spent time in the Genesis text and basked in it, friend! Thank you. I receive both the promise of it and the motive of the heart so kindly and purely given. Thank you, Patrick. Bless you.

      Like

What Do YOU Think?

